All Hail The Natural Brow – bqbhearts BEAUTY

BEAUTY

Hello beauties,

A trend that I am sure we have all noticed over the past couple of years is that of the bold brow. Celebrities such as Emma Watson, Cara Delevigne, and Megan Fox have all of us grasping for similar, gorgeous, looks. Anastasia of Beverly Hills products, from the Dip Brow Pomade to the Brow Wiz, the brow gel to their ever famous spoolie-ended brush, have moved themselves from a position of relative obscurity to the end all, be all of the brow world. And of course, the hashtag #browsonfleek has taken over Twitter even more than Charlie Sheen’s #winning.

Now, I understand the appeal. Brows frame your face, they bring out your eyes, and so much more. But what about those girls who had impeccably plucked brows circa the late 90s and now cannot grow them in all the right places? What about the girls who, like me, have such pale brows that even a hint of Brow Wiz in Taupe makes them look at best angry, and at worst, absolutely flippin’ insane?

I for one am tired of my entire makeup look feeling lesser because I refuse to pluck and shape my already sparse and pale brows. For one thing, I feel like I don’t look like myself. For another, when I see myself with drawn in brows in an up-close-and-personal way, all I can think of is “wow, these look fake!”. Now before the harsh criticisms come in, I have tried all the techniques. I have used pomades, gels, pencils and mascaras. I have had them done at a Sephora store. I have had them plucked, tweezed, waxed and threaded. Nothing, and I mean nothing, looks better or more “me” than my natural, albeit slightly unshapely, brows.

So this is me refusing to follow a trend in makeup, just this once, simply because it does not work for me. I think this can apply to every facet of style – if something isn’t working for you, whether it be winged liner or peplum tops, ditch it! No, I am not “hating on” the girls and guys out there with perfect brows – if I could have Cora Avellier’s brows or Tati Westbrook’s, heck yes, I would! But for me, this trend is just not #onfleek.

Cheers,

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-11-46-02-am

ps: this post is stolen from my old blog, bquinnb (no longer active!).

Leave a Reply

